Elektra: Main Belt Opportunity!

While we do not have any full network TNO campaigns scheduled this month, the map below shows a unique opportunity for all RECON teams in California, Nevada, and Arizona to celebrate Presidents Day by participating in an optional occultation campaign involving Main Belt Asteroid (130) Elektra!

Predicted shadow path for (130) Elektra

Predicted shadow path for (130) Elektra

This event occurs February 16 around 08:37:00 UT, so after midnight on Monday evening/Tuesday morning (12:37AM Pacific Time and 01:37AM Arizona Time). The maximum event duration is 15.1 seconds and teams can read the predicted event time off the map above. Because Elektra (mag 11.8) is brighter than the star it is occulting (mag 12.3), the occultation will be very faint as the combined brightness drops by only half a magnitude. Tony George has offered to help with data analysis to generate light curves for participating teams.

Starcharts and Sense-Up

Date: 2016 February 16 UT
Recording Window: 08:36:00-08:39:00 UT
RA: 09:35:26 (of date)
DEC: 12:57:38 (of date)
Sense-Up: x4

Below are starcharts and star fields provided by Bill Gimple from Greenville.

Star chart for (130) Elektra

Star chart for (130) Elektra

Star field for (130) Elektra provided by Bill Gimple at sense-up of x64

Star field for (130) Elektra provided by Bill Gimple at sense-up of x64

Star field for (130) Elektra provided by Bill Gimple at sense-up of x4

Star field for (130) Elektra provided by Bill Gimple at sense-up of x4

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.